Bios are available for the 2017-2018 officers of the American College of Cardiology

Mary Norine Walsh, MD, FACC

Mary Norine Walsh, MD, FACCWalsh earned both her undergraduate and medical degrees from the University of Minnesota. She completed her internship and residency at the University of Texas Southwestern, and her cardiology fellowship at Washington University School of Medicine. She served as an assistant professor of medicine in the division of cardiology, as well as an assistant professor of radiology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. Walsh then joined what is now St. Vincent Medical Group in Indianapolis, IN. She is the medical director of the Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplantation Programs and director of nuclear cardiology at St. Vincent Heart Center. She has been active in the ACC, both locally and nationally. She has served as president of the Indiana Chapter, and has served on and chaired multiple committees. She is actively involved in clinical research in heart failure, nuclear cardiology and systems approaches for quality initiatives in the practice setting. She has been elected by her peers for inclusion in Best Doctors in America annually since 2005.

C. Michael Valentine, MD, FACC
Vice President

Valentine is an interventional cardiologist at Centra Health in Lynchburg, VA. He is a graduate of the University of Georgia, where he was named the outstanding senior, and the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He completed his medicine and cardiology training at Emory University in Atlanta, GA. Valentine has served the College in many roles, including ACC Treasurer and Secretary, as well as chair of the ACC Board of Governors, and governor of the ACC's Virginia Chapter. He was co-chair of the ACC Advocacy Committee and served on the task force to develop the Cardiac Cath Lab Quality Tool Kit. He chaired the ACC Medical Directors Institute, promoting collaboration between payers and physicians and the concept of appropriate use. He is co-chair of the College's annual Cardiovascular Summit and is ACC Vice President. He is married to Shannon Valentine, a former member of the Virginia House of Delegates, and has three active college-aged children.

B. Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC
Secretary and BOG Chair

WilsonWilson graduated with honors from Davidson College and Duke University Medical School and completed his residency and fellowship at Vanderbilt University.

After completing his cardiology fellowship, Wilson joined Sanger Heart and Vascular Institute in Charlotte, North Carolina as an interventional cardiologist where he was director of the cath lab and chief of cardiology for over 15 years. He currently serves as the chief interventional cardiologist for the ACC/AHA National STEMI Accelerator I and II programs covering over 30 million lives. Wilson has led numerous medical missions to Haiti and Latin America and since 2012 has traveled to Belize to help establish the country’s only national percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) and coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) program.

Wilson has been an active member of the ACC over the entire course of his career. For the last five years, he has been a program director of the ACC North Carolina/South Carolina Chapter annual meeting, which has grown into one of the largest combined state meetings. Wilson currently is the outgoing governor of the ACC’s North Carolina chapter, and his efforts with the state legislature on population health led to his appointment to the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force. He also currently serves on the ACC Membership Committee and the National Cardiovascular Data Registry Management Board.

Robert A. Guyton, MD, FACC

Robert A. Guyton, MD, FACC Guyton is a graduate of the University of Mississippi and the Harvard Medical School. He completed his residency in general surgery and a residency in cardiothoracic surgery, both at Massachusetts General Hospital, with an additional fellowship in pediatric cardiac surgery at Children's Hospital Medical Center in Boston. Since 1990, Guyton has been the chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the Emory University School of Medicine and the director of the thoracic surgery residency program. He is the Charles Ross Hatcher, Jr. Professor of Surgery. Guyton was a member of the board of directors of the Society of Thoracic Surgeons for 10 years, serving as treasurer and later as president. Guyton is the founder of the Cardiothoracic Research Laboratory of the Carlyle Fraser Heart Center at Emory/Crawford Long Hospital. He has been a member of the ACC Board of Trustees, the Surgeon's Council and the Board of Finance. Guyton was the co-chairman of the ACC/AHA Committee on Guidelines for Coronary Artery Bypass Surgery. Guyton served on the writing committee for the 2012 Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI) Guidelines and the 2014 Valvular Heart Disease Guidelines, and he was a member of the ACC/AHA Workforce on Practice Guidelines. Guyton has been recognized for his teaching as the winner of the Socrates Award for Commitment to Resident Education and Mentoring by the Thoracic Surgery Residents Association in 2009 and the Surgery Mentoring Award from the Council on Cardiovascular Surgery and Anesthesia of the American Heart Association in 2012.

Shal Jacobovitz
Chief Executive Officer | 2013-Present

Shalom "Shal" JacobovitzShal Jacobovitz is the chief executive officer of the American College of Cardiology. In this role, Jacobovitz leads the organization in its mission to transform cardiovascular care and improve heart health. Prior to joining the ACC, Jacobovitz served as president of Actelion Pharmaceuticals U.S., a biopharmaceutical company specializing in cardio-pulmonary therapies. He has also held positions at F. Hoffmann La Roche, Abbott Canada, Nordic Labs and Marion Merrill Dow — now known as Aventis — in Canada. Jacobovitz earned his bachelor of science degree in biology at Western University in Canada.