MedAxiom Names New President and Board of Directors

MedAxiom PresidentFollowing ACC’s recent acquisition of MedAxiom, the organization has named Gerald (Jerry) Blackwell, MD, MBA, FACC, as its first-ever physician president and chief medical officer, and also selected the company’s new board of directors. Blackwell is a non-invasive cardiologist with Ballad Health in Johnson City, TN, and will begin his new role as MedAxiom president on May 1, working alongside ACC and MedAxiom CEO Tim Attebery, DSc, MBA, FACHE. The new seven-member board, led by Chair Cathleen Biga, MSN, RN, FACC, will begin their roles immediately, reporting to ACC’s Board of Trustees and serving terms of up to three years.

“MedAxiom, as a new ACC company, is committed to securing outstanding governance and leadership that will build on the company’s strengths and propel it into the future,” said Attebery. “These appointments reflect this commitment and will ensure MedAxiom continues to grow in its mission to advance the cardiovascular health care community and improve business and patient care outcomes.”

Blackwell, who graduated from Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine in 1983 and completed a residency at The Ohio State University Medical Center, brings more than 35 years of experience in cardiovascular medicine to his new role. He has also been actively involved in both the ACC and MedAxiom, serving as chair of ACC’s Health Affairs Committee, as past governor of ACC’s Tennessee Chapter and as member of the Cardiology Advocacy Alliance board.

“I’m honored to be named president of MedAxiom and play this important role in helping members of the broader health care community achieve the Quadruple Aim of Health Care,” said Blackwell. “With the help of our new board and our quality-focused members, I will strive to realize MedAxiom’s mission of improving organizations and promoting patient centricity.”

ACC’s Nominating Committee, led by ACC Past President Mary Norine Walsh, MD, MACC, managed the selection process for the new Board of Directors, which includes two members of the ACC Board of Trustees and the ACC Treasurer. “The ACC Nominating Committee is impressed by the breadth of competencies represented by the new MedAxiom Board,” said Walsh. “The Committee carefully reviewed all applicants to recommend a board that will best guide MedAxiom forward into the future.”

The following individuals make up MedAxiom’s inaugural board:

  • Cathleen Biga, MSN, RN, FACC, Chair (ACC Trustee), 2019-2020
  • Vance M. Chunn, DSc, Member, 2019-2020
  • John P. Erwin, III, MD, FACC, Member, 2019-2022
  • Edward T. A. Fry, MD, FACC, Member (ACC Trustee), 2019-2021
  • Ann E. Honeycutt, MSN, Member, 2019-2022
  • Geoffrey A. Rose, MD, FACC, Member, 2019-2022
  • Howard T. Walpole Jr., MD, MBA, FACC, Ex-Officio (ACC Treasurer), 2019-2021

“It is an honor and a privilege to have been asked to serve as chair of the MedAxiom Board,” said Biga. “I am excited about the opportunities to work with the entire board, as well as MedAxiom staff and executive leadership, to execute a long-term strategy that leverages the combined strengths of MedAxiom and the ACC to meet the needs of cardiovascular clinicians, practices, hospitals and health systems now and into the future.” 

Learn more about MedAxiom and hear from physician and CV Service Line leaders on the ways MedAxiom and the ACC can work together to continue to transform cardiovascular care. “"With MedAxiom now part of the ACC family, clinicians, practices, health systems and hospitals can take advantage of the strengths and expertise of both groups to optimize cardiovascular care and patient outcomes,” said ACC President Richard J. Kovacs, MD, FACC.

Keywords: Trustees, Internship and Residency, Leadership, Ohio, Tennessee, Universities, Patient Care, Learning, Physicians, Academic Medical Centers

< Back to Listings