Dr. Robert Shor Elected Chair of American College of Cardiology Board of Governors

Contact: Beth Casteel , bcasteel@acc.org, 202-375-6275

SAN DIEGO (Mar 16, 2015) -

Robert Shor, M.D., FACC, has been elected chair of the American College of Cardiology Board of Governors and secretary of the Board of Trustees, the main governing body of the ACC, for 2015-2016. His term begins today as the ACC’s 64th Annual Scientific Session comes to a close in San Diego.

As chair of the Board of Governors, Shor will lead the 66 chapter governors representing all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Canada, Mexico and the U.S. Uniformed Services. The Board is the grassroots governing body of the College.

Shor, a partner at Virginia Heart in Northern, Virginia, has been an active member of the College for many years, serving as the president of the Virginia Chapter of the ACC following turns as councilman and then Treasurer. He has also been the Chair for the VCACC Advocacy Committee and has represented the College on the Hill. Additionally, he has been involved in the creation of the VCACC’s Patient Center on the Chapter website. This resource provides important health information to patients while also providing opportunities to engage them in state and national advocacy.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to lead the Board of Governors during the upcoming year,” said Shor. “I look forward to working with the leaders of each chapter as we all look to foster growth in physician education and patient care.”

Shor is a graduate of the University of South Carolina medical school and completed his internship, residency and fellowship at Emory University. He is board certified in cardiology and internal medicine. Shor has also served on the Clinical Programs Committee and the Medical Advisory Board for the National Committee for Quality Assurance.

Other officers for the ACC for 2015-2016 are President Kim Allan Williams, M.D., FACC; President-Elect Richard A. Chazal, M.D., FACC; Vice President Mary Norine Walsh, M.D., FACC; Treasurer Robert Guyton, M.D., FACC; and Immediate past-President Patrick T. O’Gara, M.D., MACC.

New members of the Board of Trustees are Deepak L. Bhatt, M.D., MPH, FACC; Dipti Itchhaporia, M.D., FACC; Frederick A. Masoudi, M.D., MSPH, FACC; Jagat Narula, M.D., Ph.D., MACC; Debra L. Ness, M.S.

The ACC’s Annual Scientific Session brings together cardiologists and cardiovascular specialists from around the world each year to share the newest discoveries in treatment and prevention. Follow @ACCMediaCenter and #ACC15 for the latest news from the meeting.

The American College of Cardiology is a 49,000-member medical society that is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more information, visit acc.org.


< Back to Listings