American College of Cardiology Names Distinguished Award Winners

Nineteen to be recognized for achievements at ACC.18 Convocation Ceremony

Contact: Sam Roth,, 202-375-6582

ORLANDO (Mar 09, 2018) -

Nineteen people who have made outstanding contributions to the cardiovascular profession have been named 2018 Distinguished Award winners by the American College of Cardiology. They will be recognized for their achievements at the Convocation Ceremony on March 12 during the ACC’s 67th Annual Scientific Session in Orlando.

Recipients are nominated by their peers and then selected by the American College of Cardiology Awards Committee. This year’s winners are:

  • 2018 Bernadine Healy Leadership in Women’s CV Disease Award
    Carl J. Pepine, MD, MACC; University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida
  • 2018 Distinguished Associate Award
    Janet Fredal Wyman, DNP, AACC; Henry Ford Hospital, Detroit
  • 2018 Distinguished Fellow Award
    Jagat Narula, DM, MD, PhD, MACC; Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York
  • 2018 Distinguished Mentor Award
    Deepak L. Bhatt, MD, MPH, FACC; Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston
  • 2018 Distinguished Scientist Award (Basic Domain)
    Elazer R. Edelman, MD, PhD, FACC; Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • 2018 Distinguished Scientist Award (Clinical Domain)
    Kim A. Eagle, MD, MACC; University of Michigan Cardiovascular Center, Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • 2018 Distinguished Scientist Award (Translational Domain) 
    K. Lance Gould, MD, FACC; University of Texas Medical School, Austin, Texas
  • 2018 Distinguished Service Award
    James E. Tcheng, MD, FACC; Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina
  • 2018 Distinguished Teacher Award
    Thomas Bashore, MD, FACC; Duke University Medical Center, Durham, North Carolina
  • 2018 Gifted Educator Award
    Linda D. Gillam, MD, FACC; Morristown Medical Center, Morristown, New Jersey
  • 2018 Gifted Teacher Award
    Allan Jaffe, MD, FACC; Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • 2018 International Service Award
    Sarah Catherine Clarke, MA, MD, FACC; Papworth Everard Hospital, Cambridge, England
  • 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award
    Barry J. Maron, MD, MACC; Tufts Medical Center, Boston
  • 2018 Presidential Citation Award
    William Oetgen, MD, MBA, FACC; American College of Cardiology, Washington
  • 2018 Masters of the ACC
    Huon Gray, MD, FACC; University Hospital of Southampton, Southampton, England
    Christopher O’Connor, MD, FACC; Inova Heart and Vascular Institute, Annandale, Virginia
    Thad Waites, MD, FACC; Hattiesburg Clinic of Forrest General Hospital, Hattiesburg, Mississippi
    Mary Norine Walsh, MD, FACC; St. Vincent Heart Center, Carmel, Indiana
  • 2018 Douglas P. Zipes Distinguished Young Scientist Award
    Salim Hayek, MD; Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta

For more information on the Distinguished Awards program or individual awards, visit here.

The ACC’s Annual Scientific Session brings together cardiologists and cardiovascular specialists from around the world to share the newest discoveries in treatment and prevention. Follow @ACCMediaCenter and #ACC18 for the latest news from the meeting.

The American College of Cardiology is a 52,000-member medical society that is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more information, visit


< Back to Listings