ACC Advocacy, Piecing Together the MACRA Puzzle

The Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015, commonly referred to as MACRA, introduces a new Medicare physician payment system. In addition to replacing the Sustainable Growth Rate (SGR) formula, MACRA:

  • Establishes a framework for a quality-based system
  • Streamlines current quality reporting programs (PQRS, Value Modifier and EHR Incentive Program) into one system
  • Reauthorizes two years of funding for the Children’s Health Insurance Program

MACRA is comprised of two pathways in which clinicians will participate in order to receive Medicare payment: the Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Advanced Alternative Payment Models (Advanced APMs). Most clinicians will participate in MIPS, which bundles the Physician Quality Reporting System, the Value Modifier and the Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Program into one program. Advanced APMs open up new methods of paying providers under Medicare. Regardless of which pathway a clinician participates in, he/she will be measured on four core components: quality, resource use, clinical practice improvement and meaningful use of certified EHRs.

Visit the links below for everything you need to know about how MACRA will impact your practice.

Issue Briefs


ACC Action

Education and Meetings