PQRS participants choosing any individual measures reporting option or method must report on at least nine measures covering three National Quality Strategy (NQS) domains. The six NQS domains and example measures are listed below:

  • Effective Clinical Care
    • CAD: Antiplatelet Therapy
    • HF w/ LVEF <40%: ACE/ARB therapy
  • Person and Caregiver-Centered Experience Outcomes
    • Getting timely care, appointments and information
    • How well your doctors communicate
  • Patient Safety
    • Medication Reconciliation
    • Chronic Anticoagulation Therapy
  • Communication and Care Coordination
    • Advance Care Plan
  • Efficiency and Cost Reduction
    • Cardiac Stress Imaging: Not Meeting Appropriate Use Criteria: Pre-Operative Evaluation in Low-Risk Surgery Patients
  •  Community, Population and Public Health
    • Preventive Care and Screening: Tobacco Use: Screening and Cessation Intervention

Cross Cutting Measure Requirement

Cross-cutting measures are broadly applicable to eligible professionals, regardless of specialty or practice area. Eligible professionals and group practices reporting via claims or a qualified registry are required to report one cross-cutting measure if they have at least one Medicare face-to-face encounter. The cross-cutting measure can be one of the nine measures required for reporting.