American College of Cardiology Names Six Research Award Winners

Awardees provided with one-year of research support, to be recognized at ACC.19

Contact: Sam Roth,, 202-375-6582

NEW ORLEANS (Mar 16, 2019) -

The American College of Cardiology has awarded six research awards to support the training and development of young cardiovascular investigators. Awardees will be recognized at the ACC Convocation, Inauguration and Awards Ceremony on March 18 during the ACC’s 68th Annual Scientific Session in New Orleans.

The American College of Cardiology/Merck Research Fellowships in Cardiovascular Disease and Cardiometabolic Disorders provide two one-year fellowships to support research in adult cardiology. This year marks the 38th anniversary of the award. Recipients are expected to pursue a full-time project in clinical research during their year of supported training.

This year’s recipients and their research titles are:

  • David Ouyang, MD, Stanford University, Stanford, California
    “Big Data Analysis and Machine Learning in Cardiovascular Imaging”
  • Rishi Wadhera, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
    “Explaining Rising Heart Failure Mortality in Medicare”

The American College of Cardiology/William F. Keating Esq. Endowment Career Development Award recognizes and provides financial support for research efforts by outstanding cardiovascular scholars. It provides one junior faculty member with a year of research support with preference going to research in hypertension and/or peripheral vascular disease.

This year’s recipient is:

  • Mazen Albaghdadi, MD, FACC, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
    “In Vivo Imaging of Arterial Permeability to Enhance and Predict Drug-Coated Balloon Treatment of Atherosclerosis”

The ACC Presidential Career Development Award is to encourage junior faculty in the early phases of their careers in the field of cardiology and to recognize and provide financial support for research efforts made by these outstanding cardiovascular scholars. The award will provide three junior faculty members with one year of research support.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Justin Bachmann, MD, FACC, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, Tennessee
    “Cardiac Rehabilitation Utilization and Outcomes in Patients with Heart Failure”
  • Emmanouil Tampakakis, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, Maryland
    “Engineering a power switch to study the contribution of stem cell-derived cardiomyocytes on heart regeneration”
  • Wunan Zhou, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
    “Myocardial flow reserve, myocardial mechanics and left ventricular remodeling in patients with aortic stenosis”

For more information on the ACC’s research and career development awards, visit here.

The ACC’s Annual Scientific Session brings together cardiologists and cardiovascular specialists from around the world to share the newest discoveries in treatment and prevention. Follow @ACCMediaCenter and #ACC19 for the latest news from the meeting.                                 

The American College of Cardiology envisions a world where innovation and knowledge optimize cardiovascular care and outcomes. As the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team, the mission of the College and its more than 52,000 members is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC bestows credentials upon cardiovascular professionals who meet stringent qualifications and leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College also provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research through its world-renowned JACC Journals, operates national registries to measure and improve care, and offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions. For more, visit


< Back to Listings