American College of Cardiology Announces Young Investigator Award Winners

Contact: Sam Roth,, 202-375-6582

WASHINGTON (Mar 18, 2019) -

The American College of Cardiology has announced the winners of its Young Investigator Awards competition, which encourages and recognizes young scientific investigators of promise, upon whom progress in the field of cardiology is dependent. The awards were presented at the ACC Convocation, Inauguration and Awards Ceremony on March 18 during the ACC’s 68th Annual Scientific Session in New Orleans.

To be considered for a Young Investigator Award, candidates submitted an abstract summarizing any problem relating to cardiovascular disease, whether in etiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis or therapy.  Finalists were selected in each of the three award categories and invited to attend the Scientific Session to present their work during the Young Investigator Awards Competition.

Finalists are awarded first place, second place or honorable mention. This year’s winners are:

Young Investigator Awards in Basic and Translational Science

  • First Place: Kel Vin Woo, MD, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Second Place: Jeremie Ferey, PhD, Washington University, St. Louis, Missouri
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Carlo Bartoli, MD, PhD, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    • Scott Cameron, MD, University of Rochester, Rochester, New York
    • Yang Chen, BS, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
    • Satoru Yamamura, MD, Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan

Young Investigator Awards in Clinical Investigations

  • First Place: Muthiah Vaduganathan, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Second Place: Jeong Hwan Kim, MD, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Anthony Chung, MBBS, Flinders Medical Centre, Adelaide, Australia
    • Bruno Lima, MD, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia
    • Giorgio Medranda, MD, NYU Winthrop Hospital, Mineola, New York
    • Yang Zhan, MD, Methodist Debakey Heart and Vascular Center, Houston, Texas

Young Investigator Awards in Outcomes Research

  • First Place: Rohan Khera, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, Texas
  • Second Place: Krishna Aragam, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Safia Chatur, MD, Libin Cardiovascular Institute of Alberta, Calgary, Canada
    • Stephen Dolgner, MD, Seattle Children’s Hospital, Seattle, Washington
    • Sawan Jalnapurkar, MD, University of California Riverside, Riverside, California
    • Rishi Wadhera, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts

For more information on these awards, visit

The American College of Cardiology envisions a world where innovation and knowledge optimize cardiovascular care and outcomes. As the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team, the mission of the College and its more than 52,000 members is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC bestows credentials upon cardiovascular professionals who meet stringent qualifications and leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College also provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research through its world-renowned JACC Journals, operates national registries to measure and improve care, and offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions. For more, visit


< Back to Listings