Dr. Kim Allan Williams Sr. Assumes Role of President of the American College of Cardiology

Contact: Beth Casteel, bcasteel@acc.org, 202-375-6275

SAN DIEGO (Mar 16, 2015) -

Kim Allan Williams Sr., M.D., FACC, today assumed the role of  president of The American College of Cardiology today at close of the college’s 64th Annual Scientific Sessions.

Williams, chief of cardiology and James B. Herrick Professor at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago, has published numerous peer reviewed articles, editorials, book chapters and review articles in the field of cardiology, cardiac imaging and regarding minority health issues, with emphasis on education and innovations in perfusion imaging and quantitation of ventricular function. His more recent research interests include prevention of heart disease, health care disparities and payment policy, and appropriate use of cardiac imaging.

During his presidency, Williams plans to focus on his passion for population health and prevention, particularly as it relates to the College’s Strategic Plan.

“I am honored to have the opportunity to lead the ACC,” said Williams. “I look forward to fostering further international growth, and therefore the global efforts, of the College. Improving population health will also  require a focus on quality and access.  My hope for this presidential year is to continue the positive trajectory toward improving these two issues worldwide.”

Born and raised in inner-city Chicago, Williams attended the College of The University of Chicago and the University of Chicago’s Pritzker School of Medicine. He completed his residency in internal medicine at Emory University and then had overlapping fellowships in cardiology, clinical pharmacology and nuclear medicine at the University of Chicago.

Other officers for the ACC for 2015-2016 are President-Elect Richard A. Chazal, M.D., FACC; Vice President Mary Norine “Minnow” Walsh, M.D., FACC; Secretary and Board of Governors Chair Robert “Bob” Shor, M.D., FACC; Treasurer Robert Guyton, M.D., FACC; and Immediate past-President Patrick T. O’Gara, M.D., MACC.

New members of the Board of Trustees are Deepak L. Bhatt, M.D., MPH, FACC; Dipti Itchhaporia, M.D., FACC; Frederick A. Masoudi, M.D., MSPH, FACC; Jagat Narula, M.D., Ph.D., MACC; Debra L. Ness, M.S.

The ACC’s Annual Scientific Session brings together cardiologists and cardiovascular specialists from around the world each year to share the newest discoveries in treatment and prevention. Follow @ACCMediaCenter and #ACC15 for the latest news from the meeting.

The American College of Cardiology is a 49,000-member medical society that is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more information, visit acc.org.


< Back to Listings