Announcing ACC’s 2023 Distinguished Awardees

The ACC is proud to announce this year’s slate of Distinguished Award winners. These individuals represent a diverse group of clinicians and scientists who are helping to transform cardiovascular care and improve heart health for patients worldwide. The College looks forward to formally recognizing and honoring their distinguished contributions during the annual Convocation ceremony at ACC.23 Together With WCC, which will take place on March 6, in New Orleans, LA. To learn more about ACC.23/WCC, visit

Presidential Citation
John S. Rumsfeld, MD, PhD, MACC

San Francisco, CA

Distinguished Fellow
Thad F. Waites, MD, MACC

Hattiesburg, MS

Distinguished Cardiovascular Team Member
Eileen M. Handberg, PhD, ARNP, FACC

Gainesville, FL

Distinguished Teacher
Catherine M. Otto, MD, FACC

Seattle, WA

Gifted Educator
Partho P. Sengupta, MD, FACC

New Brunswick, NJ

Distinguished Mentor
Marcelo F. Di Carli, MD, FACC

Boston, MA

Pamela S. Douglas Distinguished Award for Leadership in Diversity and Inclusion
Paul L. Douglass, MD, MACC

Smyrna, GA

Distinguished Service
Pamela B. Morris, MD, FACC

Mount Pleasant, SC

Valentin Fuster Award for Innovation in Science
Christine E. Seidman, MD

Boston, MA

Distinguished Scientist (Basic Domain)
James E. Muller, MD, FACC

Auburndale, MA

Distinguished Scientist (Clinical Domain)
Gregory Y. H. Lip, MD, FACC

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Distinguished Scientist (Translational Domain)
Margaret M. Redfield, MD, FACC

Rochester, MN

Douglas P. Zipes Distinguished Young Scientist
Michael Honigberg, MD, FACC
Boston, MA

International Service
Mirvat A. Alasnag, MBBS, FACC

Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Bernadine Healy Leadership in Women’s CV Disease
Karol E. Watson, MD, FACC

Los Angeles, CA

Lifetime Achievement
Paul Wayne Armstrong, MD, FACC

Kingston, Canada

Master of the ACC (MACC)
C. Noel Bairey Merz, MD, FACC

Los Angeles, CA

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Paul N. Casale, MD, MPH, FACC

Lancaster, PA

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Edward T. A. Fry, MD, FACC

Indianapolis, IN

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Janet S. Wright, MD, FACC

Littleton, CO

Keywords: Awards and Prizes, Leadership, Mentors, ACC History

< Back to Listings