American College of Cardiology Announces Young Investigator Award Winners

Contact: Nicole Napoli,, 202-375-6523

WASHINGTON (Mar 24, 2017) -

The American College of Cardiology has announced the winners of its Young Investigator Awards competition, which encourages and recognizes young scientific investigators of promise, upon whom progress in the field of cardiology is dependent. The awards were presented at the Convocation Ceremony on March 19 during the ACC’s 66th Annual Scientific Session in Washington.

To be considered for a Young Investigator Award, candidates submitted an abstract summarizing any problem relating to cardiovascular disease, whether in etiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis or therapy.  Finalists were selected in each of three award categories and invited to attend the Scientific Session to present their work during the Young Investigator Awards Competition.

Finalists are awarded first place, second place or honorable mention. This year’s winners are:

Young Investigator Awards in Basic and Translational Science

  • First Place: Carlo R. Bartoli, MD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia
  • Second Place: Laura Meems, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Matthew J. Lewis, MD, MPH, Columbia University, New York
    • Kevin Morine, MD, Tufts Medical Center, Boston
    • Evan Muse, MD, PhD, Scripps Translational Science Institute, La Jolla, California
    • Iqbal Toor, MB, ChB, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Young Investigator Awards in Clinical Investigations

  • First Place: Upasana Tayal, MB, ChB, Royal Brompton Hospital, London
  • Second Place: Arash Harzand, MD, Emory University, Atlanta
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Tariq Ahmad, MD, Yale,, New Haven, Connecticut
    • Maya Safarova, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
    • Viviany R. Taqueti, MD, MPH, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston

Young Investigator Awards in Outcomes Research

  • First Place: Xiaoxi Yao, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Second Place: Corey Tabit, MD, University of Chicago, Chicago
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Derek Chew, MD, University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    • Sawan Jalnapurkar, MBBS, Cedars Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles
    • Eric D. Parod, PharmD, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia
    • Celina M. Yong, MD, Stanford University Medical Center, Stanford, California

For more information on these awards, visit

The American College of Cardiology is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College and its more than 52,000 members is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more, visit


< Back to Listings