American College of Cardiology Announces Young Investigator Award Winners

Contact: Sam Roth,, 202-375-6582

WASHINGTON (Mar 19, 2018) -

The American College of Cardiology has announced the winners of its Young Investigator Awards competition, which encourages and recognizes young scientific investigators of promise, upon whom progress in the field of cardiology is dependent. The awards were presented at the Convocation Ceremony on March 12 during the ACC’s 67th Annual Scientific Session in Orlando.

To be considered for a Young Investigator Award, candidates submitted an abstract summarizing any problem relating to cardiovascular disease, whether in etiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis or therapy.  Finalists were selected in each of the three award categories and invited to attend the Scientific Session to present their work during the Young Investigator Awards Competition.

Finalists are awarded first place, second place or honorable mention. This year’s winners are:

Young Investigator Awards in Basic and Translational Science

  • First Place: Jason David Roh, MD, MHS, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Second Place: Michele Esposito, MD, Tufts Medical Center
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Geoffrey Weiting Cho, MD, University of California, Los Angeles
    • Thomas Edward Kaier, MD, MRCP, MBA, King’s College London
    • Han Saem Jeong, MD, Korea University Anam Hospital
    • Kevin R. King, MD, PhD, University of California, San Diego

Young Investigator Awards in Clinical Investigations

  • First Place: Anum Saeed, MD, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Second Place: Margo B. Minissian, PhD, ACNP, Cedars-Sinai Heart Institute
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Eyal Ben-Assa, MD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    • Rushi Parikh, MD, Stanford University
    • Takafumi Sakamoto, MD, PhD, Kyushu University
    • Tor Biering-Sorensen, MD, PhD, University of Copenhagen

Young Investigator Awards in Outcomes Research

  • First Place: Devraj Sukul, MD, MSc, University of Michigan Health System
  • Second Place: Lydia Wright, MD, Sibley Heart Center Cardiology
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Chetan Huded, MD, Cleveland Clinic
    • Laney Jones, PharmD, Geisinger Health System
    • Wesley O’Neal, MD, Emory University
    • Nathaniel Rosso Smilowitz, MD, New York University School of Medicine

For more information on these awards, visit

The American College of Cardiology is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College and its more than 52,000 members is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more, visit


< Back to Listings