American College of Cardiology Announces Young Investigator Award Winners

Contact: Sam Roth,,

WASHINGTON (May 17, 2021) -

The American College of Cardiology has announced the winners of its Young Investigator Awards competition, which encourages and recognizes young scientific investigators of promise, upon whom progress in the field of cardiology is dependent. The awards were presented during the ACC Convocation Ceremony on May 17 during the ACC’s 70th Annual Scientific Session Together, taking place virtually.

To be considered for a Young Investigator Award, candidates submitted an abstract summarizing any problem relating to cardiovascular disease, whether in etiology, pathophysiology, diagnosis or therapy. Finalists were selected in each of the three award categories and invited to attend the Scientific Session to present their work during the Young Investigator Awards Competition.

Finalists are awarded first place, second place or honorable mention. This year’s winners are:

Young Investigator Awards in Basic and Translational Science

  • First Place: Sasha Prisco, MD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
  • Second Place: Rohan Bhandari, MD, Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Hoda Hatoum, PhD, Michigan Tech University, Houghton, MI
    • Jacob Scherba, BS, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC
    • Fotios Spyropoulos, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Newton, MA
    • Carla Valenzuela Ripoll, MD, Washington University in St. Louis, St. Louis, MO

Young Investigator Awards in Clinical Investigations

  • First Place: Upasana Tayal, MB, ChB, Royal Brompton and Harefield Hospitals, London, England
  • Second Place: Hashrul Rashid, MBBS, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Michel Corban, MD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
    • Andrew Freddo, MD, University of Colorado, Aurora, CO
    • Michael Seth Garshick, MD, NYU Langone Health, New York
    • Miguel Rodrigo, PhD, University of Valencia, Valencia, Spain

Young Investigator Awards in Outcomes Research

  • First Place: Olivia Dong, PhD, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC
  • Second Place: Brian Wayda, MD, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • Honorable Mention:
    • Weihong Guo, MD, Fuwai Hospital, Beijing, China
    • Jeff Kingsley, DO, Jefferson Health Northeast, Philadelphia, PA
    • Anna Katherine Krawisz, MD, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston
    • Chayakrit Krittanawong, MD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

For more information on these awards, visit

ACC.21 will take place May 15-17 virtually, bringing together cardiologists and cardiovascular specialists from around the world to share the newest discoveries in treatment and prevention. Follow @ACCinTouch, @ACCMediaCenter and #ACC21 for the latest news from the meeting.

The American College of Cardiology envisions a world where innovation and knowledge optimize cardiovascular care and outcomes. As the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team, the mission of the College and its 54,000 members is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC bestows credentials upon cardiovascular professionals who meet stringent qualifications and leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College also provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research through its world-renowned JACC Journals, operates national registries to measure and improve care, and offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions. For more, visit


< Back to Listings