It is time to submit your recommendations to the Nominating Committee for the slate of Vice President and Trustees for the American College of Cardiology (ACC) and the American College of Cardiology Foundation (ACCF). Nominations are due by July 3, 2020. Submit your nominations today!

Each Trustee will serve up to a three-year term. The Vice President serves a one-year term, and is thereafter eligible to assume the position of ACC President. To serve as Vice President, an individual must have first served at least one term on the BOT.

Please review the Application Form [DOC], ACC Vice President Position Description [PDF], and Trustee Position Description [PDF]. ACC Vice President applicants, please reference the ACC President Position Description [PDF] for future responsibilities.

Per ACC's governance, the Nominating Committee encourages all nominators, candidates and supporters to leverage the Leadership Competency model when recommending candidates. In alignment with the Governance Principles, the Nominating Committee will be applying the Leadership Competencies [PDF] as a framework for discussion of Vice President and Trustee candidates. ACC Leadership Competencies are available here.

In addition to ACC's Leadership Competencies designated above, prospective Trustee candidates should possess additional competencies essential to the functions of the Board of Trustees. Valuable skills and expertise may include, but are not limited to:

  • Member education and knowledge
  • Comprehension of digital and informational technology
  • Knowledge of health systems and institutional strategy
  • Understanding of health policy, including quality and outcomes/population health
  • Proficiency in education and research

Individual Trustees are not expected to possess all stated competencies above. However, the Board will need to contain these skillsets collectively. In making recommendations, you are reminded of the following

  • Members may be primary nominator for only one member per category (Vice President or Trustee)
  • Members may write a letter of support for up to two Trustees, provided they are not the primary nominator of a Trustee
  • Officers, Nominating Committee members, Governance Committee members, and ACC staff may not support a candidate
  • A Past-President is ineligible for any elected office
  • Members of the Nominating Committee are ineligible for any office
  • A Trustee term shall be three years with a maximum of two three-year terms
  • Members of the Board of Governors (BOG) may not serve on the Board of Trustees concurrently, with the exception of the Chair and Chair Elect of the BOG

The Nominating Committee will meet this summer to consider all recommendations submitted and will present a slate of nominations to the ACC/ACCF Board of Trustees for approval. Please forward your nominations and supporting materials to by July 3, 2020.

Members unable to provide support to 2020 – 2021 Officer & Trustee Candidates:

President: Athena Poppas, MD, FACC
Vice President: Dipti Itchhaporia, MD, FACC
Secretary: Daniel M. Philbin, Jr., MD, FACC
Treasurer: Howard T. Walpole Jr., MD, MBA, FACC

Governance Committee
Huon H. Gray, CBE, MD, MACC (Chair)
Erick Alexanderson Rosas, MD, FACC
Eileen M. Handberg, PhD, ARNP, FACC
Robert C. Hendel, MD, FACC
Michael J. Mack, MD, MACC
George P. Rodgers, MD, MACC
W. Douglas Weaver, MD, MACC
B. Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC
Athena Poppas, MD, FACC (non-voting ex-officio)
Dipti Itchhaporia, MD, FACC (non-voting ex-officio)

Nominating Committee
Richard J. Kovacs, MD, MACC (Chair)
Cathleen Biga, MSN, RN, FACC
Claire S. Duvernoy, MD, FACC
Robert C. Hendel, MD, FACC
Michael J. Mack, MD, MACC
Joseph Edward Marine, MD, FACC
Daniel Jose Piñeiro, MD, FACC
Athena Poppas, MD, FACC (non-voting ex-officio)

Contact Taylor Davis at (202) 375-6208 or with your questions.