ACC/ABC Bristol Myers Squibb Fellowship Awards

Congratulations to the 2022 ACC/ABC Bristol Myers Squibb Research Fellowship Award Winners!

Kemar Brown, MD
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

Jonathan Cunningham. MD, MPH
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA

Debra Dixon, MD, MS
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN

Krishna Pundi, MD
Stanford University School of Medicine
Stanford, CA

Four one-year fellowships in the amount of $100,000 each will be awarded as salary support for one year of cardiovascular research. The ACCF/BMS Fellowship Awards Program provides a springboard for innovative research and supports those whose projects have the greatest potential to yield valuable findings relevant to current concerns in cardiovascular medicine, including cardiomyopathies. The year of research will begin July 1, 2022 and run through June 30, 2023.

Research Focus

In selecting applications, encouraged research topics include (but are not limited to):

  • Disparities in care
  • Cardiomyopathies
  • Hypertrophic cardiomyopathies
  • Thrombosis

Preference for one award will be given to applicants focusing on disparities of care. Despite increased attention to health disparities at the national, state and community levels, relatively little progress has been made in achieving the vision of eliminating racial and ethnic health disparities. Since the rates of cardiovascular mortality in the United States are significantly higher for these patients and this is in fact the leading cause of death in this demographic, innovative approaches to eliminating these disparities are critical. In an effort to encourage and support research in this area, proposals will be encouraged that focus on gender, race, geographic, and economic inequalities in cardiovascular care.

Eligibility & Selection

Anyone currently in an accredited adult, cardiovascular surgery, or pediatric cardiology fellowship training program recognized by the Accreditation Council Graduate Medical Education or the American Osteopathic Association; must have relevant research experience; must have a mentor with recognized experience in the treatment or research that they are pursuing; and who has the recommendation and agreement of their training program director and institution.

Judging for the awards will be determined by the ACC Research Fellowship Awards Committee and the Association of Black Cardiologists. Criteria for the selection will include:

  • Scientific quality of the project;
  • Relevance to the research focus as described above;
  • Qualification and commitment of the applicant;
  • The quality of the training program; and
  • Projected Career Development Plan

Successful applicants may pursue this protected year of research either within or following their three years of required training. Preference will be given to individuals who:

  • Will pursue clinical training and experience directly involving patients or human subjects
  • Have had no more than two years of prior full-time research experience either in clinical or basic research
  • Will not hold another major external fellowship or salary award, (e.g., from the National Institutes of Health or the American Heart Association) during the ACC/ABC BMS funded year
  • One fellowship award will be exclusively awarded to a current member of the Association of Black Cardiologists

The deadline to submit an application is January 7, 2022.

The ACC is grateful to Bristol Myers Squibb for their financial support for these awards.

For questions, please contact Rebekah Noyes at