The mission of the Young Scholars Work Group is to help provide a select group of students, who are interested in a career in science, with an opportunity for a year of mentored research and education about cardiovascular disease, and the importance of scientific research to advance the care of patients with cardiovascular disease.

Through recruitment outreach, application process and selection, planning of in-person meetings, webinars, and educational content, plus all research projects and mentorship, this workgroup does it all!

Members interested in joining this group should contact ACC staff, Alex DiTommaso at

Jacqueline Tamis-Holland, MD, FACC – Co-Chair
Karol Watson, MD, FACC – Co-Chair
Andrew Einstein, MD, FACC
Robert Hendel, MD, FACC
Mary (Minnow) Walsh, MD, MACC
Juan Lopez-Mattei, MD, FACC
Stavros Stavrakis, MD, FACC
Mike Lloyd, MD, FACC
Pantila Bateman, MD, FACC
Jagat Narula, MD, DM, PhD, MACC
Marlene Williams, MD, FACC
Venu Menon, MBBS, FACC
Heval Kelli, MD
Modele Ogunniyi, MD, FACC – Emory
Chris Massad, MD
Joseph Tommasino, PA-C, PhD, FACC
Arturo Gasga
Dinesh Kalra, MD, FACC
Michael Gannon, MD, FACC
Adhir Shroff, MD, MPH, FACC