ACC BOT Recommends 2018 Slate of Officers and Trustees

The ACC Board of Trustees (BOT) recommended the College’s newest slate of officers and trustees during its August meeting, which took place this past weekend in Minnesota. The ACC Nominating Committee, led by Immediate Past President Richard Chazal, MD, MACC, put forth the following candidates for BOT recommendation, using the College’s Leadership Competencies as guidance:

  • C. Michael Valentine, MD, FACC, to serve as president from 2018-2019.
  • Richard J. Kovacs, MD, FACC, to serve as vice president from 2018-2019.
  • Howard T. Walpole Jr., MD, MBA, FACC, to serve as treasurer from 2018-2021.
  • Edward T.A. Fry, MD, FACC, and Daniel Jose Pineiro, MD, FACC, to serve as trustees from 2018-2021.

"Each of these individuals is uniquely qualified to uphold the mission of the College and provide the strong leadership needed to guide the ACC toward the future," said Chazal. "Congratulations to all the new officers and trustees."

These officers will be officially approved at the College’s Annual Business Meeting in March 2018 in Orlando, FL. The College is grateful for the work of the Nominating Committee, which in addition to Chazal, is made up of Deepak Bhatt, MD, MPH, FACC; Eileen Handberg, PhD, ARNP, FACC; Christopher Kramer, MD, FACC; Jagat Narula, DM, MD, PhD, MACC; Robert Shor, MD, FACC; and Thad F. Waites, MD, FACC.

The BOT is the centralized governing authority for the ACC and responsible for overseeing decisions related to the College's mission and strategic direction. To learn more about ACC’s governance structure, visit

Keywords: Leadership

< Back to Listings