ACC BOT Recommends 2019 Slate of Officers, Trustees

The ACC Board of Trustees (BOT) has approved the College's newest slate of officers and trustees, including it next president and vice president. The ACC Nominating Committee, led by Immediate Past President Mary Norine Walsh, MD, MACC, put forth the following candidates for BOT approval, using the College's Leadership Competencies as guidance:

  • Richard J. Kovacs, MD, FACC, to serve as president from 2019-2020
  • Athena Poppas, MD, FACC, to serve as vice president from 2019-2020
  • Claire S. Duvernoy, MD, FACC, and James L. Januzzi Jr., MD, FACC, to serve as trustees from 2019-2022

"I'm excited by the diverse perspectives, experiences and backgrounds that each of these individuals will bring to the BOT and the College as a whole," said Walsh. "This is especially critical given their role in guiding ACC's next Strategic Plan, which is focused on increasing relevance as the cardiovascular professional home; generating and delivering actionable knowledge; advancing quality, equity and value of cardiovascular care; and ensuring organizational growth and sustainability."

These officers will be officially approved in March 2019 during ACC.19 in New Orleans, LA. The ACC's Nominating Committee is made up of Walsh, Ana Barac, MD, PhD, FACC; John E. Brush Jr., MD, FACC; Blair D. Erb Jr., MD, FACC; Eileen M. Handberg, PhD, ARNP, FACC; Gerard R. Martin, MD, FACC; and B. Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC.

The BOT is the centralized governing authority for the ACC and responsible for overseeing decisions related to the College's mission and strategic direction. To learn more about ACC's governance structure, visit

Keywords: Trustees, Leadership, Government, Organizations, Knowledge, Group Processes

< Back to Listings