ACC's 2021 Distinguished Awardees Announced

ACC's list of 2021 Distinguished Awardees represents a diverse group of individuals from around the globe who are tangibly helping to transform cardiovascular care and improve the heart health of patients worldwide. The College looks forward to formally recognizing and honoring their distinguished contributions during Convocation at the hybrid Annual Scientific Session & Expo in May. To learn more about the planning for ACC.21, which will take place live in Atlanta, GA, as well as virtually, visit

Douglas P. Zipes, MD, MACC, Distinguished Young Scientist Award
Marat Fudim, MD, FACC

Bernadine Healy Leadership in Women's CV Disease
Uri Elkayam, MD, FACC

Distinguished Associate
Leslie L. Davis, NP, PhD, FACC

Distinguished Fellow
Nkechinyere Ijioma, MBBS, FACC

Distinguished Mentor
Christopher M. Kramer, MD, FACC

Distinguished Scientist (Basic Domain)
Chunyu Zeng, MD, PhD, FACC

Distinguished Scientist (Clinical Domain)
Christopher M. O'Connor, MD, MACC

Distinguished Scientist (Translational Domain)
Sanjay Rajagopalan, MD, FACC

Distinguished Service
Shuyang Zhang, MD

Distinguished Teacher
Eric R. Bates, MD, FACC

Pamela S. Douglas Distinguished Award for Leadership in Diversity and Inclusion
Quinn Capers, IV, MD, FACC

Gifted Educator
Hani Jneid, MD, FACC

International Service
Daniel A. N. Mascarenhas, MD, FACC

Lifetime Achievement
Jay N. Cohn, MD, FACC

Presidential Citation
Anthony S. Fauci, MD

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Robert C. Hendel, MD, FACC

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Gerard R. Martin, MD, FACC

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Frederick A. Masoudi, MD, MSPH, FACC

Master of the ACC (MACC)
Athena Poppas, MD, FACC

Keywords: ACC Annual Scientific Session

< Back to Listings