The Academic Communications Work Group is the voice of the Section – developing content for the webpage and posting updates to the social media pages on Twitter. They are also in charge of leading communication initiatives through Member Hub. The group is comprised of two co-chairs and 5 other member volunteers.

Members interested in joining this group should contact ACC staff, Alex DiTommaso at

Francis Alenghat, MD, PhD, FACC – Co-Chair
Aarti Patel, MD, FACC – Co-Chair

Hena Patel, MD (FIT)
Lakshmi Tummala, MD, FACC
Kevin Shah, MD, FACC
Amr Barakat, MD (FIT)
Nasrien Ibrahim, MD, FACC
Nosheen Reza, MD, FACC (Early Career)

Academic Profiles